Races & Results
Open Wheel
Dbl Duty Tour
Online Store

Cingular Wireless Pit Crew Wins Pit Championship fueled by POWERade

Robby Gordon’s No. 31 Cingular Wireless pit crew was the Round Seven winner of the Pit Championship fueled by POWERade during Sunday’s (March 30) Samsung/RadioShack 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Richard Childress Racing’s (RCR) No. 31 team was declared the winner and the recipient of the $20,000 first prize money for spending the least amount of time (202 seconds) on pit road. Jeff Green’s No. 30 America Online pit crew crew finished second. Green’s car had a total time of 234 seconds on pit road.

The win lifted Gordon’s team into third place in the season point standings for the Pit Championship fueled by POWERade.

Gordon’s over-the-wall crew consists of: Josh Yost (jackman), Shane Westerberg (front-tire changer), Mike Barry (front-tire carrier), Ron Otto (rear-tire changer), Phil Gould (rear-tire carrier, who was filling in for the injured Jason Fowler), Larry Hartle (gasman) and Rich Burgess (catch can). The team’s crew chief is Kevin Hamlin.

During each 2003 NASCAR Winston Cup points event, the participating team whose car spends the least amount of aggregate time off the race track will be named the weekly winner provided the team’s driver takes the green flag at the beginning of the event and the checkered flag at the conclusion of the event. A timing line at the entrance and exit of pit road triggers the car’s transponder and records the total time spent off the race track.

The team that records the most standing points during the season will receive a $200,000 bonus at the end of the year. The point distribution per race is: 43 points for first place, descending in increments of one. In order to obtain points at each race, a team must take the opening green flag and the closing checkered flag.

The Pit Championship fueled by POWERade is the largest monetary contingency program in NASCAR history and the first to reward pit crews for performance at each race.

Top 10 Pit Crews For Participating Teams In

Sunday’s (March 30) Samsung/RadioShack 500 at Texas Motor Speedway
1. Robby Gordon, 202 seconds
2. Jeff Green, 234
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr., 238
4. John Andretti, 251
5. Jamie McMurray, 262
6. Jerry Nadeau, 270
7. Michael Waltrip, 309
8. Todd Bodine, 342
9. Jack Sprague, 372
10. Kurt Busch, 379

2003 Winners of The Pit Championship fueled by POWERade:

Michael Waltrip team — Daytona (Feb. 16)
Dave Blaney team — Rockingham (Feb. 23)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. team — Las Vegas (March 2)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. team — Atlanta (March 9)
Jeff Green team – Darlington (March 16)
Bill Elliott team – Bristol (March 23)
Robby Gordon team – Texas (March 30)

Top 10 Point Leaders
Pit Championship fueled by POWERade:

(following Texas race – 3/30/03)

1. Michael Waltrip team, 254 points
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr. team, 244
3. Robby Gordon team, 237
4. Jeff Green team, 226
5. Casey Mears team, 212
6. Greg Biffle team, 204
7. Steve Park team, 199
8. Ricky Rudd team, 195
9. Kurt Busch team, 193
10. Dale Jarrett team, 190